Task 5 – Scoring Woodwind For Film

Note: I deliberately let a few seconds of silence run at the beginning to set the mood.

Report

1 – My objective for this task was to create a score for woodwind to a video of our own choice. I chose 2001 : A Space Odyssey (1968).

2 – The visual elements I wanted to highlight were at the beginning when the glass smashes, conveyed with a dissonant minor chord to create the effect of shock. Also when he sees the monolith at the end, performed by long similar sounding chord.

3 – I took inspiration from Alex North’s Night Terrors in 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968), where he uses long dissonant chord gestures at the point where the monolith appears creating an unsettling, eerie feeling.

I also took inspiration from Karlheinz Stockhausen’s Gesang der Junglinge

I combined both of these styles by lining up the attacks of each note in the chord unrealistically close together, which produced a more synthetic sound reminiscent of Stockhausen’s Elektronische Muzik. You can hear this between 1:39 and 1:44.

4 – One new audio technique applied was panning, where I applied it to each section of instruments according to Rimsky Korsakov’s Principles of Orchestration (1965).

5 – One music technique I learned is the correct orchestral positioning for woodwind instruments.

6 – This task was practise as research because I researched Stockhausen’s style of Elektronische Muzik and North’s expressive style of orchestral music and furthered it by combining the two together forming an ambiguous innovate, yet successfully imitated manner.

7 – I would give myself 62.5% because I have researched two previous composers’ styles and amalgamated them together in a creative way, which meets the criteria of the task. Also, I am quite pleased with the musical outcome.

Word Count: 248

Bibliography

Stockhausen., K. 1955. Gesang der Junglinge: (Song of the Youths). [Vinyl] Germany: Deutsche Grammonphon. 138 811. 13 mins. 10 sec.

Rimsky-Korsakov., N., 1965. Principles of Orchestration. Dover study and playing editions. New York: Dover Publications

2001 : A Space Odyssey. 1968. [Film] S. Kubrick. United States: MGM





Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment